Author Topic: Newb from Ray Roberts  (Read 1619 times)

Shaun

Newb from Ray Roberts
« on: February 09, 2011, 09:17:05 am »
Hey everyone. I've been lurking on here for a couple months now. I thought I would step out of the shadows and say hey. I live over in Mountain Springs. I just bought a pretty stock 90' YJ a couple months ago. I am just fixing her up to be a DD, so I'm just going to be replacing things that are warn out for now.
 After that I'll be replacing the chrome bumpers, raising her up with a 4" lift, and replacing the tires to 33".
I'm not much of a mechanic, so I'm sure I'll be asking lots of questions along the way.
 Looking forward to learning more,
Shaun

don6317

Re: Newb from Ray Roberts
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2011, 10:00:29 am »
Hey Shaun. Welcome, I'm a mechanic for a living. Built plenty of Jeeps, Truck cars and any thing else at one time or another. You need any help just ask! If i dont know I can find out. Don

Offline Ken

• Desert Racer
  • Trust me ;)
    • Browning's Reliable Cars & Trucks
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2011, 02:53:28 pm »
Welcome to TORC!

89 YJ Juggy
2006 Duramax 2500 4X4 (Tow Rig)

LouR6

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2011, 07:54:14 pm »
Cool jeep. I'm pretty handy with a wrench and previously a mobile electorinics certified professional. These guys have a lot of experience I'm sure anyone could give you a hand, me to if you supply the beer. I've never paid anyone to turn a wrench of any of my bikes or vehicles, always done it myself.  :thumbs:

Shaun

« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2011, 06:26:03 am »
Thanks for the warm welcome.
I changed the fuel pump out last weekend that was leaking so bad. Now the metal line coming out of the fuel pump, and going out to the carb is leaking :(. not sure why.
 The threads are not whats leaking though. It's where the metal line screws in to the fuel pump.There is a flare in the metal line and a coupling. I guess I get to replace the entire metal line now :(
Any ways, glad to be here.